1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do AMPS actually work

Discussion in 'Mining' started by Jasdar, May 22, 2013.

1. Jasdar

Jasdar Member

Ok simple question here. Do the Amps increase hit rate or is it size of the claim that is increased. Granted I am still a noob at mining only lvl 9 in everything except treasure which well lets face it not much of a market that I see right now for it. So I have been playing around with lvl 1 and 2 amps just to test and see what they do. I have gotten an increase in size of claim once or twice with them but nothing consistent. One thing that happened though was my hit rate went from an average of 30% to an average of about 37% which is why I am asking.

2. harmony

harmony Active Member Pro Users

amps increase the size of the deposit you find.

If you have are searching for ores for example with an amplifier that decays 1 ped and you would find something worth one ped, the size would be

1.5 ped if you use an amp that decays 50 pec
    2 ped if you use an amp that decays 1 ped
    11 ped if you use an amp that decays 10 ped

Since you have to pay markup when using amplifiers you want to make sure that you find resources with a higher markup then the costs of the amplifier (which is pretty easy, unless you want really big amps).

3. Jasdar

Jasdar Member

Thanks, now that makes a lot more sense to me.

4. Neil

Neil Adviser Pro Users Arkadia Adviser

Actually, the PED amount is multiplied by about a little more than 3. An amp that costs 2 ped decay (level 5 amp) will give you mostly average to ample claims (~10 ped) (3 ped from the probe plus 6 ped from the amp). Makes sense when you think that a hit rate for break even is about 30%, so it takes on average 3 drops worth of TT to equal one claim's TT value.